About the Project

Stamps imprinted on amphorae and tiles are found everywhere in the Classical settlements of the North Pontic region. Achievements in ceramic epigraphy have made it possible to date such finds with a margin of error of only 10-20 years, which has turned this material into a reliable tool for dating archaeological levels, features, assemblages, burials and whole sites.

A large proportion of the imprints are in a poor state of preservation which makes it difficult to restore legends and to date stamps. Interpreting stamps is possible with reference to catalogue-identifiers from specific centres [Garlan, 1999; Garlan, 2004; Jefremow 1995; Katz, 1994; Finkielsztejn, 2001], to publications of stamps in museum collections [Fedoseev, 2012; Fedoseev, 2016 et al.] or to results obtained in the course of archaeological excavations of individual sites [Balabanov, Garlan, Avram, 2016; Conovici, 1998; Tzochev, 2016 et al.].

If a researcher sets himself the task of searching for precise parallels for a die he has found, then the most complete  collection of stamps found in the North Pontic region is still Corpus IosPE III (Inscriptiones antiquae Orae Septentrionalis Ponti Euxini graecae et latinae), which contains approximately 30,000 stamps. The work on this catalogue was completed by B.N.Grakov in February 1959 and his survey covered most of the stamps which had been recorded by the mid-1950s. Yet, for technical and material considerations, Grakov’s work was not published and is held in manuscript form in the archive of the Institute of Archaeology affiliated to the Russian Academy of Sciences and in the library of the Archaeology Department of Moscow State University. In view of the fact that preparing that survey took around half a century, a whole pleiad of researchers toiled away to create it and some of the stamps found their way into it from other publications, the Corpus contains a large number of duplicates, misinterpretations of legends, inaccuracies in details of codes and find-spots, incorrect groupings of imprints based on dies. Work with the catalogue is complicated by the lack of illustrations: photographs are provided for only 10-40% (this varies from one volume to another) of the stamps. Publishing the Corpus in the format existing today would be a costly undertaking and, basically, there would be no point in embarking upon that task without collating it and adding the stamps which have been found over the last 70 years. This means that the work required for restoring the stamps would require study of a large quantity of archive materials, publications and reviews of the latter, in which attention has been drawn to errors and inaccuracies on the part of the publisher.  

The proposed project aims to create an electronic database covering pottery stamps (on amphorae, tiles, thin-walled vessels) originating from various sites in the North Pontic region. Its creation seeks to simplify the process of restoring damaged imprints, finding parallels and dating pottery stamps. Illustrating the material with photographs makes it possible to establish the identity of certain dies and check that each proposed interpretation is correct.

This extended search will make it possible to carry out statistical analysis of imprints stemming from individual sites within the region.

The database is accessible for editing and supplementing the existing range of stamps and can incorporate new imprints.

During the first stage of work on this project it is planned to introduce the collection of pottery stamps into the academic literature – a collection which was assembled over many years of archaeological research conducted in rural settlements of various types by the Crimean Expedition of the Institute of Archaeology, affiliated to the Russian Academy of Sciences, in the Crimean Sea-of-Azov region, led by Professor and Doctor of Historical Sciences, A.A.Maslennikov. Without his support, advice and involvement, this project would never have seen the light of day.

I thank to Katharine Judelson for site translation from Russian into English and to Maria Nikitina for photos.

The author would like to express her gratitude to the Charitable Foundation “Artemis” supporting the protection and investigation of archaeological sites in the North Pontic and Sea-of-Azov regions and also to Prof. Dr. E.A.Savostina for helping us bring this project to fruition and obtain the necessary funding.

Dr. Anna V. Kovalchuk

О проекте

Клейма, отпечатанные на амфорах и черепицах, встречаются повсеместно на античных поселениях Северного Причерноморья. Успехи керамической эпиграфики позволяют их датировать с точностью до 20-10 лет, что превратило этот материал в надежный хронологический репер для археологических слоев, объектов, комплексов, погребений и целых памятников.

Значительная часть оттисков имеет плохую сохранность, что затрудняет процесс восстановления легенды и датировку клейма. Чтение клейм возможно проводить по каталогам-определителям отдельных центров [Garlan, 1999; Garlan, 2004; Jefremow, 1995; Кац, 1994; Finkielsztejn, 2001] или публикациям клейм из собрания музеев [Федосеев, 2012; Федосеев, 2016 и др.], а также результатов, полученным в ходе археологических раскопок отдельных памятников [Balabanov, Garlan, Avram, 2016; Conovici, 1998; Tzochev, 2016 и др].

Если исследователь ставит перед собой задачу по поиску точной аналогии найденному штампу, то наиболее полным собранием клейм, найденных в Северном Причерноморье, остается третий том Корпуса древних надписей Северного Причерноморья (Inscriptiones antiquae Orae Septentrionalis Ponti Euxini graecae et latinae, сокр. ΙοsPE III), содержащий около 30 тыс. клейм. Работа над каталогом была закончена Б. Н. Граковым в феврале 1959 года, в состав свода вошла большая часть материала, известного на середину 50-х гг. ΧΧ века. Однако эта работа в силу технических и материальных причин не была опубликована и хранится в виде рукописи в Архиве ИА РАН и библиотеке кафедры археологии МГУ. В связи с тем, что подготовка свода заняла около полувека, над его созданием трудилась целая плеяда исследователей и часть клейм попала в его состав из публикаций, корпус содержит большое количество дубликатов, ошибочные чтения легенд, неточности в указании шифров и мест находок, неверное объединение оттисков по штампам. Работа с каталогом ΙοsPE III затрудняется отсутствием иллюстративного материала: лишь 10-40 % (в зависимости от центра производства) клейм снабжены фотографиями. Публикация Корпуса в существующем виде является дорогостоющим предприятием, и, по сути дела, без сверки и дополнения клеймами, найденными за последние 70 лет, лишена смысла.

Таким образом, работа по восстановлению клейм предполагает изучение большого количества архивных материалов, публикаций и рецензий на них, в которых отмечены ошибки и неточности, допущенные издателем.

Предлагаемый проект ставит своей целью создание электронной базы данных керамических клейм (на амфорах, черепицах, тонкостенных сосудах), происходящих с различных памятников Северного Причерноморья. Она призвана упростить процесс восстановления поврежденных оттисков, поиска аналогий и хронологического определения керамических клейм. Иллюстрация материала фотографиями позволит установить отдельные штампы и проверить правильность предложенной интерпретации.

Расширенный поиск делает возможным статистическую обработку оттисков, происходящих с отдельных памятников региона.

База данных является открытой для редактирования и дополнения уже существующих клейм, включения в ее состав новых материалов. Автор готов сотрудничать с исследователями, заинтересованными в публикации своих коллекций на сайте.

На первом этапе работы предполагается введение в научный оборот коллекции керамических клейм, полученной в ходе многолетних археологических исследований сельских поселений в районе Крымского Приазовья Восточно-Крымской экспедицией ИА РАН под рук. проф., дин А. А. Масленникова. Без его поддержки, советов и участия этот проект никогда бы не увидел свет.

Мы признательны К. Юдельсон, которой принадлежит перевод страниц на английский язык, и М. А. Никитиной, взявшей на себя труд по фотографированию коллекции клейм в фондах Керченского заповедника.

Автор выражает благодарность Благотворительному фонду содействия охране и исследования памятников археологии Северного Причерноморья и Приазовья «Артемида» и проф., дин Е. А. Савостиной за помощь в реализации проекта и его финансовое обеспечение.

кин А. В. Ковальчук